PDA

View Full Version : How game servers work?

Ov3rCasT
07-12-2008, 12:01 AM
I think it could be very useful to find something easy to understand with a lot of technical details.

I have basic knowledge but definitely not good enough.

What I have in mind is kind of informations that can help us to understand a lot of things. For example, why intermittent fire is more effective than constant fire, possible effects of hacks on a server, why a server can be crashed, etc...

I searched a lot for the past 2 weeks but for the moment I found nothing interesting.

(If I still unable to find something I'm thinking about asking directly to some game servers providers.)

GreenBean-HH-
07-12-2008, 12:06 PM
What I have in mind is kind of informations that can help us to understand a lot of things. For example, why intermittent fire is more effective than constant fire, possible effects of hacks on a server, why a server can be crashed, etc...

Intermittent fire is more of a strategy as it has to do with recoil.

Overall sounds good but if you find it is a dead end then don't waste your time on it. For instance, I think we should provide more info on game browsers, what filters to use for xfire to enable PB for each game, etc.... more practical things.

Lil B_F
07-25-2008, 12:43 AM
What about a explanation of RCON controls in servers too!! What admins are and arent able to do in servers can be explained more clearly. Eg Total comtrol RCON can wipe all your configs and really mess up your game!!!

Ov3rCasT
07-25-2008, 03:30 PM
What about a explanation of RCON controls in servers too!! What admins are and arent able to do in servers can be explained more clearly. Eg Total control RCON can wipe all your configs and really mess up your game!!!

After thinking about you idea seriously... I mean :) and.... :) :) and... :) :) :)

it's clear your idea is very good and a lot of other subjects related to admins could be interesting too.